Conquer West Bengal Judicial Service Examination (WBJS)

Everything You Need to Know About the West Bengal Judicial Service Examination

The West Bengal Judicial Service Examination, also known as the PCS (J) or Judiciary Exam, is the entry-level exam for law graduates who aspire to become members of the subordinate judiciary in West Bengal. This article will provide detailed information on the eligibility criteria, syllabus, previous years’ question papers, application process, recommended books, preparation tips and tricks, previous years’ cut-offs, and frequently asked questions about the examination.

West Bengal Judicial Service Examination (WBJS)
West Bengal Judicial Service Examination (WBJS)

Eligibility Criteria for WBJS Examination

To appear for the WBJS examination, candidates must fulfill the following eligibility criteria:

  1. Citizenship: Candidates should be citizens of India, or individuals of other nationalities declared eligible by the Government of India.
  2. Educational Qualification: A degree in Law from any University or Institution affiliated with any University recognized by the State Government or the Central Government.
  3. Enrolment as an Advocate: Candidates must be enrolled as an advocate in the roll of the Bar Council of any State or Union Territory in India on the date of advertisement for the examination. They should also fit the definition of an advocate as per Section 49 of the Advocates Act, 1961.
  4. Language Proficiency: Candidates should have the ability to read, write, and speak in Bengali, unless their mother tongue is Nepali.
  5. Health and Character: Candidates should possess good health and character, and suitability for appointment to government service in all respects. This means they should not have their name in criminal cases or be bankrupt or insolvent.

Age Criteria for WBJS Examination

The age criteria for appearing in the West Bengal Judicial Service Examination (WBJS) examination are as follows:

  1. General Candidates: Candidates should be between 23 and 35 years old on the date of advertisement for the examination.
  2. SC/ST/OBC/PwBD Candidates: The upper age limit is relaxable by 5 years for SC & ST candidates, by 3 years for O.B.C. (Non-Creamy Layer) candidates, and up to 45 years of age for Persons with Disabilities having a physical disability of 40% and above.
  3. Government Employee Candidates: Government employees can claim a relaxation of 2 years in age if they have been in continuous government service for at least 2 years. A certificate showing continuous service under the government should be provided as proof.
See also  Cybercrime: Disrupting Global Justice System

Document Required for Age Proof

For determining eligibility with regard to age, only the birthdate mentioned in the candidate’s Madhyamik (Class X Boards) or equivalent exams will be considered. No other age proof will be accepted.

Attempt Limit for WBJS Examination

Candidates do not have unlimited attempts to appear for the WBJS examination. The attempt limit is as follows:

  1. General Candidates: General candidates can appear a maximum of three times.
  2. SC/ST/O.B.C. Candidates: Candidates who belong to SC/ST/O.B.C. categories can appear a maximum of five times.
  3. All Other Candidates: All other candidates can appear no more than three times.

West Bengal Judicial Service Examination (WBJS) Preliminary Examination

The preliminary examination is the first stage of the West Bengal Judicial Service Examination WBJS examination. It consists of one objective-type paper containing 200 multiple-choice questions (MCQs). The time allotted for the exam is 2 hours and 30 minutes.

The syllabus-to-marks ratio for the preliminary examination is as follows:

1. English Composition: 30 marks
2. General Knowledge, Current Affairs, and Test of Reasoning: 40 marks
3. Indian Constitution: 20 marks
4. Law of Contracts and Torts: 20 marks
5. Laws of Evidence: 20 marks
6. Civil Procedure Codes: 20 marks
7. Criminal Procedure Code and Indian Penal Code: 20 marks
8. Personal Law: 10 marks
9. Law of Limitation: 20 marks

Syllabus for English in Preliminary Examination

The English composition section in the preliminary examination will cover various topics such as synonyms, antonyms, idioms and phrases, vocabulary tests, phrasal verbs, same words with multiple meanings, use of appropriate and qualifying words, etc.

See also  Hit and Run Cases in India: Legal Consequences and Relief Available

West Bengal Judicial Service Examination WBJS Mains Examination

The mains examination, also known as the final examination, consists of eight compulsory papers and three papers on optional subjects. The compulsory and optional papers carry 100 marks each, making the total for the written papers 1100 marks.

The standard of examination for all the papers, whether compulsory or optional, is that of an LL.B. degree from Calcutta University. Candidates can choose to write their papers either in English or Bengali, except for the language papers.

The compulsory papers in the final examination are as follows:

1. English Composition, Essay, and Précis Writing
2. Bengali/Hindi/Urdu/Nepali/Santali Composition, Essay, and Translation from English
3. General Knowledge and Current Affairs
4. Civil Procedure Code
5. Criminal Procedure Code and Indian Penal Code
6. Indian Evidence Act
7. Law of Contracts and Torts
8. Transfer of Property Act

Candidates need to choose any three optional papers from the following list:

1. Hindu Law
2. Muhammadan Law
3. Jurisprudence and Principles of Legislation
4. Indian Law relating to Companies and Insurance
5. Principles of Equity, including the Law of Trusts and Specific Relief
6. Partnership Act
7. Law of Limitation and Law of Prescription
8. The Indian Constitution and Constitutional Law

Interview/Personality Test

The interview/personality test carries 100 marks and includes questions on national and international issues. The subjects covered in the mains (final) exam are also included in the interview. Candidates are observed on how they respond to questions under pressure.

Deduction of Marks in the West Bengal Judiciary Exam

Candidates should be aware of the following deduction of marks in the WBJS examination:

  1. Preliminary Examination: For every three wrong answers, one mark will be deducted, following a one-third negative marking scheme.
  2. Mains or Final Examination: 10% of the full marks in each paper will be deducted for wrong answers.
See also  Jessica Stern Honored for LGBTQI+ Advocacy Work.

In conclusion, the West Bengal Judicial Service Examination is a competitive exam that requires candidates to meet certain eligibility criteria and pass through three stages: Preliminary, Mains, and Interview. By understanding the syllabus, previous years’ question papers, and preparation tips provided, candidates can effectively prepare for and excel in this prestigious examination.